Arctic Futures Symposium Octobre 2013 à Bruxelles!

La Fondation Polaire Internationale (IPF) annonce que sera tenu à Bruxelles en Belgique l’édition 2013 du Symposium Arctic Futures les 16 et 17 octobre 2013 avec des diverses personnalités du milieu polaire, politique, universitaire et  environnemental (voir ci-dessous la liste des invités).


Vous pouvez être présents  gratuitement à l’évent. Seulement, l’IPF précise que les inscriptions sont obligatoires et doivent avoir lieu avant le 13 octobre 2013. Nous vous invitons à vous rendre sur pour de plus amples informations. 

Adresse du jour: Bouche à Oreille conference centre,  11 Rue Félix Hap / Felix Hap Straat 1040 Brussels, Belgique. 


« … Held over two days from 9:00 am to 6:00 pm, the comprehensive agenda of this year’s Arctic Futures Symposium will focus on responsible Arctic resource development, safe Arctic shipping, sustainable circumpolar communities, and research to inform policymaking. These themes reflect Canada’s “Development for the People of the North” priorities during its chairmanship of the Arctic Council form 2013 to 2015.

On the morning of 16 October, the symposium will welcome decision-makers from Arctic nations and the EU to discuss current and future issues facing the Arctic. In the afternoon, natural and social science experts along with representatives from indigenous Arctic communities will discuss natural and social science research that aims to help decision-makers be well-informed in their policymaking. European Commissioner for Maritime Affairs and Fisheries Maria Damanaki and Belgian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders will be featured keynote speakers.

On the morning of 17 October, the symposium will look at sustainable development of the Arctic’s natural resources, before spending the remainder of the day looking at future shipping scenarios in the Arctic. The shipping scenarios workshop will be organised in conjunction with the Arctic NGO Forum, an initiative funded by the European Commission Directorate General for the Environment.

Other confirmed speakers include:

Hannu Halinen (Finnish Ambassador to the Arctic Council)
Gustaf Lind (Swedish Ambassador to the Arctic Council)
Else Berit Eikeland (Norwegian Ambassador to the Arctic Council)
Kai Holst-Andersen (Greenlandic Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs)
Tómas Orri Ragnarsson (Counsellor on Arctic Affairs, Danish Ministry for Foreign Affairs)
Gunnar Wiegand (Director For Russia, Eastern Partnership, Central Asia, Regional Cooperation and OSCE at the European External Action Service)
Michael Byers (Canada Research Chair (Tier 1) in Global Politics and International Law at the University of British Columbia)
Peter Wadhams (Professor of Ocean Physics and Head of the Polar Ocean Physics Group, Department of Applied Mathematics and Theoretical Physics, University of Cambridge)
Gordon McBean (President, Canadian Climate Forum; Professor of Geography, University of Western Ontario)
Konrad Steffen (Director, Swiss Federal Institute for Forest, Snow and Landscape Research)
Agneta Fransson (Research scientist and ocean acidification expert, Norwegian Polar Institute)
Seeta Sistla (NOAA Climate and Global Change Postdoctoral Fellow,Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, University of California, Irvine)
Peter Harrison (Professor, Director of the School of Policy Studies at Queen’s University; Chair of the IPY 2012 “From Knowledge to Action” conference)
Liisa Holmberg (Rector, Sami Education Institute)
Vera Metcalf (Director, Eskimo Walrus Commission)
Anders Oskal (Director, International Centre for Reindeer Husbandry)
Reggie Joule (Mayor, Alaska’s Northwest Arctic Borough)
Harriet Kuhlein (Professor Emerita of Human Nutrition, McGill University; Founding Director, Centre for Indigenous Peoples Nutrition and Environment)
Julian Vangen (Fishing industry analyst, Norwegian Fishermen’s Sales Organization)
Sandra Rita Allnutt (Senior Technical Officer, Marine Technology Section, Maritime Safety Division, International Maritime Organization)
Vera Metcalf (Director, Eskimo Walrus Commission)
Antoine Kedzierski (Policy officer, Transport & Environment)… plus d’info >> « 

This post is also available in: Chinois simplifié, Anglais, Espagnol